top of page

YCPN presents... Stephanie Takyi

Jade Foster briefly asked Stephanie Takyi what she enjoyed about her second session and what she hopes to get out of the programme.

Jade : Can you reflect on the Projection Mapping workshop?

Stephanie: ''What I enjoyed about today’s session is that I got to see and learn about different software’s. They were both based on coding but functioned differently to create visual that either rotated or moved. It was interesting to play around and learn a different side of coding that I have not seen yet. It made coding seem fun and not just for a function.''

Jade: There are many sections to the museum and different roles. Some people who work at the museum focus on the communication and marketing side of things like designing posters, flyers and website material. So my question for you is why did you want to join and what did you like about making a poster for YCPN?

Stephanie: ''In my spare time I like to paint traditionally, and I am working to develop a body of work that focuses on how people are perceived. How we focus too much and who the person is and not much on what they are... what their insides project. I created the poster because I got given the opportunity to. But I really wanted to do it because I got given the freedom to experiment and have fun with design. Something I don’t get to do often with my graphic design work, (as a student) as the work I created always must serve some sort of purpose. But the poster I made, I did in a day and their wasn’t any creative restriction which was a little scary but fun.''

Stephanie Takyi is a Graphic Design student studying at the University of Derby, as a Black British visual artist she takes inspiration from her childhood. ''My childhood was a whirlwind of vivid colours and patterns so these aspects have filtered through my adulthood and are the reason I am drawn towards maximalism and decadence. I hope to dive into design with wonder and empowerment.''

Take a look at her profile on Behance: https://www.behance.net/gallery/44743543/Editorial-Cover


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Anchor 1
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page